Department of Journalism

Department of Journalism

The history of the Department of Journalism, or actually its predecessors, is long and rich. The social sciences at Charles University date back to the 1950s. The Faculty of Journalism was established in 1972; in 1990 it was replaced by the existing Faculty of Social Sciences and three years later the study field of journalism became part of the newly established Institute of Communication Studies and Journalism. Today, the department endorses in its focus the traditions of domestic and world training of would-be journalists, as they emerged at the beginning of the twenty-first century with an emphasis on general education. Many graduates are among the top journalists in the Czech Republic.

Today, the Department of Journalism, under the leadership of Associate Professor Filip Láb, is framed by leading personalities in the field, who address a wide range of activities and topics related to practical and theoretical journalism. Long-term head of the department, Associate Professor Barbora Osvaldová, won the Gold Medal of Charles University in 2020 for her life’s work in the field of journalism.

The activities of the department are closely connected with the activities in the Radio and Television Laboratory located in the university building in Celetná, which provides students with cutting-edge technical background for the practical part of teaching, as well as other practical workplaces - DTP and Photo Laboratory. The department regularly organizes twice a year - in winter and summer - a popular school of journalism, which allows high school students to try out the journalistic profession. In 2019, the Center for Artificial Intelligence Journalism was established at the department, which deals with the latest trends in the field of journalism.

Study programmes

You can study two Czech study programs at the Department of Journalism:



doc. MgA. Filip Láb, Ph.D.
Head of the Department

prof. MgA. David Jan Novotný

PhDr. Jana Čeňková, Ph.D.
Deputy Head of the Department

doc. PhDr. Barbora Osvaldová

Mgr. František Géla

Mgr. Jaroslav Slanec

PhDr. Jan Jirků, Ph.D.

doc. PhDr. Michal Šobr, CSc.

Mgr. David Klimeš, Ph.D.

Mgr. Sandra Štefaniková

PhDr. Martin Lokšík

PhDr. Alice Němcová Tejkalová, Ph.D.

PhDr. ThMgr. Karol Lovaš, Ph.D.

Mgr. Ondřej Trunečka

Mgr. Veronika Macková

PhDr. Ludmila Trunečková, Ph.D.

doc. Radek Malý, Ph.D.

Mgr. Robert Záruba

Ing. Radek Mařík, CSc.

Mgr. Anna Zunová

PhDr. Václav Moravec, Ph.D., Ph.D.  


Mgr. Jiří Benák PhDr. Josef Maršík, CSc.
Jan Cibulka MgA. Luboš Pavel
Mgr. Kateřina Etrychová Nikita Poljakov, M.Sc.
Jan Gulda Mgr. Alex Röhrich, PhD.
Mgr. Andrej Halada, Ph.D. doc. Robert Silverio, Ph.D.
Bc. Tomáš Hodboď Marek Straka
Mgr. Jakub Charvát, Ph.D. Bc. Jindřich Šídlo
PhDr. Petr Just, Ph.D. Bc. David Šimoník
Mgr. Pavel Kasík PhDr. Milan Šmíd
Mgr. Antonín Kočí Mgr. Pavel Turek
PhDr. David Lukšů, Ph.D. PhDr. Milan Vodička
Mgr. Judita Matyášová  

Phd Students

Kateřina Bártová Kateřina Sýsová
František Géla Radomír Szajter
Peter Hanák Sandra Štefaniková
Marta Chladová Martina Topinková
David Kobout Ondřej Trunečka
Veronika Macková Kateřina Turková
Jana Magdoňová Zuzana Veselková
Magdalena Prajerová Anna Zunová